Books by Janet Tavakoli

Archangels: Rise of the Jesuits by Janet TavakoliArchangels: Rise of the Jesuits

“Conspiracies within conspiracies, a fast-paced thriller.” – Publisher’s Weekly

Tavakoli’s pulse-pounding murder mystery predicted a pope would step aside, and for the first time in the history of the Catholic Church, a Jesuit would rule the Vatican.  Read a free excerpt!



Rise of the Jesuits Companion

Rise of the Jesuits CompanionWhen it comes to Vatican intrigue, reality is as thrilling and mysterious as fiction. Archangels: Rise of the Jesuits predicted the pope would step aside and, for the first time, a Jesuit would rule the Vatican. In this short non-fiction Companion, Tavakoli answers your questions about real-life events mentioned in her breakout thriller.

In Janet Tavakoli’s debut novel, Archangels: Rise of the Jesuits, the pope stepped aside so that for the first time in history, a Jesuit could rule the Vatican. Within months, Pope Benedict XVI shocked Catholics when he became the first pope in seven centuries to willingly resign. Then, for the first time in history, a Jesuit was elected pope. Pope Francis has more surprises in store for the Roman Catholic Church.

Rise of the Jesuits Companion is a short non-fiction chronicle of life-imitating art events that occurred just after the novel’s publication. Tavakoli also answers readers’ questions about fact & fiction, murders, Mafia, missing money, sex, suicides, bribes, the new pope, Ignatius of Loyola, the Examen, the wealth of the Roman Catholic Church, Mary’s age, memory arts, mind reading, hypnosis, autosuggestion, the “royal we,” confession, and the truth about “turning the other cheek.”

Tavakoli reveals that the facts are more amazing than fiction.

Decisions: Life and Death on Wall Street

Decisions Kindle SingleTavakoli’s Wall Street memoir. Chosen as A Kindle Single.  Read a free excerpt!

What would you be willing to do for money and power?

In New York, the Federal Reserve Bank hides damaging information about too-big-too-fail banks from the public eye. A prominent bank CEO seems on the verge of a nervous breakdown.

In Washington D.C., a former Wall Street regulator checks into a hotel using the name of a hedge fund manager for an illicit meeting with a prostitute. In a D.C. suburb, the CFO of a beleaguered mortgage giant chooses a drastic personal end to “relentless pressure”.

In a picturesque suburb of Zug, Switzerland, the CFO of a major insurance company decides to end his life. In London, a financier kills himself in a way he once said he never would.

In her new memoir, Janet Tavakoli shines a bright light on the money-driven culture of Wall Street and Washington, and the life and death consequences of our decisions that put profit above all.

“A scenic tour of the recent lowlights of Wall Street and Washington. It’s a compelling tale.”
Jake Bernstein, winner – Pulitzer Prize for National Reporting

“Janet Tavakoli is a born storyteller with an incredible tale to tell. In her captivating memoir, Decisions: Life and Death on Wall Street, she takes us on a brisk journey from the depravity of 1980s Wall Street to the ramifications of the systemic recklessness that crushed the global economy. Her compelling narrative sweeps through her warnings about the dangers of certain bank products in her path-breaking books, speeches before the Federal Reserve, and in talks with Jaime Dimon.”

Nomi Prins, author of All the Presidents’ Bankers
Read Ms. Prins’ entire review at the Huffington Post

“Good things sometimes happen in life, a copy of Janet Tavakoli’s latest book. Recommend it to all financial professionals.”

Global Association of Risk Professionals

“Merrill Debauchery Only Begins This Woman’s Tale… ‘Neither Bill nor I believed Calvi committed suicide,’ Tavakoli writes. ‘Bill joked that he’d never hang himself. It was too gruesome.’”

Bloomberg News

“Janet Tavakoli, the president of Tavakoli Structured Finance and an authority on credit derivatives, has written a reflective memoir about life in the world of finance, and specifically about the ringside seat she occupied in the years leading up to the gravest financial crisis in history.

“Broeksmit’s life and death is only a small part of the picture Tavakoli draws together, but it may be THE vivid picture that many readers will take away.”

“Her point throughout, though, is that the culture of global finance is dysfunctional at best, often blatantly criminal, and that its regulators serve as enablers.”

All About Alpha

Unveiled Threat: A Personal Experience of Fundamentalist Islam and the Roots of Terrorism

Read a free excerpt!

Unveiled Threat by Janet TavakoliIn this part heart-rending memoir, part expose of fundamentalist Islamic terrorism, finance expert Janet Tavakoli bears witness to the incompatibility of Western values and fundamentalist Islam.

The Clash of Civilizations

In September 2014, Janet Tavakoli asked His Excellency Iyad bin Amin Madani, Secretary General of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), why criminals from so many different countries and cultures continue to band together in the name of Islam to commit mayhem and murder authorized by the highest levels of Islamic clergy.

This book is her answer based on her personal experiences and study of the roots of terrorism, and what it means for the United States today. Tavakoli exposes the connection between power, religion, money, and politics in a world where a woman who refuses to submit is an unveiled threat.


In 1978, Janet Tavakoli, a lapsed Catholic of northern European heritage, born and raised in the United States, moved to Iran with her husband and witnessed the Islamic revolution that overthrew the Shah. She witnessed how fundamentalists imposed their interpretation of sharia law as they destroyed rights of women and children, brutally oppressed and murdered male and female opposition, monopolized wealth, corrupted the courts, and persecuted other religions.

A year later, she left her husband and Iran behind and began her career as a globally renowned financial derivatives expert. She followed the progress of mainstream fundamentalist Islam and the continued funding of terrorism. In 1993, she was in the World Trade Center complex when terrorists detonated a bomb in the parking garage of the North Tower. Since fleeing Iran, finance expert Tavakoli has watched the expansion of fundamentalist Islam and the funding of terrorism.

Praise for Unveiled Threat

“Tavakoli turns her fire from crony capitalists to Muslim fundamentalists.”
Think Advisor (Research Magazine)

“This is a book that everyone who loves and wishes to support women should read.'”
Washington’s Blog

La Rebelion

La Rebelión de los Jesuitas

The Rebellion of the Jesuits is the Spanish edition of Archangels: Rise of the Jesuits.

Edited to be suitable for ages 13 up.

Go to Tavakoli Structured Finance for more on Professional Business and Finance Books by Janet Tavakoli


Decisions: Life and Death on Wall Street
The Wall Street Point of View
Twenty Years of Inside Life in Wall Street